Alaska Board of Game



P.O. Box 115526 Juneau, AK 99811-5526 (907) 465-4110 www.adfg.alaska.gov

Alaska Board of Game Committee Meeting on Sheep Management October 12, 2015 Spenard Recreational Center, Anchorage, Alaska

Meeting Summary

The Board of Game Committee on Dall sheep management met in Anchorage on October 12, 2015 at the Spenard Recreational Center. All three committee members (Nate Turner, Stosh Hoffman, and Dave Brown) were present. Nate Turner participated via teleconference and chaired the meeting. The meeting was facilitated by Dr. Alistair Bath.

Meeting materials and background information are available on the committee meeting website at: www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=sheepcomm.meetinginfo along with the meeting audio. Meeting attendees including agency representatives and members of the public are listed on page 3. The meeting results of their discussions are portrayed on a series of flip charts (Attachment A).

The purpose of the meeting was to discuss and identify criteria for representatives to serve on the stakeholder working group which the committee agreed to establish at the August 5 and 6, 2015 committee meeting.

The criteria for members of the working group agreed upon by the committee include:

- Ability to represent views of key sectors (federal, subsistence, commercial, Advisory Committees)
- Diversity in user groups and interests including:
 - o subsistence
 - o commercial
 - private
 - nonconsumptive
- ACs having direct interests in sheep management
- Experience working in groups toward solutions
- Willingness to compromise and respect other viewpoints
- Willingness to explore new ideas and new ways of doing things
- Federal agency viewpoints

The committee agreed the working group should have representation for the organizations and interests listed below. Members of the public attending the meeting contributed to this list.

- State advisory committees (those with an interest in Dall sheep)
- Federal regional advisory councils
- Resident hunters
- Alaska Airmen's Association
- Alaska Outdoor Council
- Alaska Professional Hunters Association
- Big Game Commercial Services Board (suggest one guide and one transporter)
- Alaska Air Carriers Association
- Alaska Wild Sheep Foundation
- Alaska Backcountry Hunters and Anglers
- Safari Club International, Alaska Chapter
- Tanana Valley Sportsmen Association
- Territorial Sportsmen, Inc.
- Matanuska Valley Sportsmen's Association
- Alaska Bowhunters Association
- Alaska Wilderness Recreation & Tourism Association
- Large private land owners (Native Corporations Doyon & Ahtna)
- Alaska Wildlife Alliance

In addition to the criteria and specific representation, the committee also decided:

- An announcement would be sent to the public soliciting interest for individual participation in the work group.
- The committee will need meet to review the letters of interest and select the public members.
- Letters will be sent to all advisory committees and the above-mentioned interest groups inviting their participation.
- Agencies having scientific information will be involved as needed.
- Enforcement agencies will be involved as needed.
- The work group will meet 2-3 times before the March 2016 Board of Game meeting; two-day in person workshops will be scheduled over the weekends beginning December 5 and 6.

The committee supported a motion that the discussion items as outlined in Attachment A provides the direction for sending letters of invitation for the formation of the working group. The committee adjourned at 3:30 pm.

Meeting Attendance

Committee Members

Nate Turner, Committee Chair Stosh Hoffman Dave Brown

ADF&G Staff

Bruce Dale, Division of Wildlife Conservation
Tony Kavalok, Division of Wildlife Conservation
Natalie Weber, Division of Wildlife Conservation
Lisa Olson, Division of Subsistence
James Van Lanen, Division of Subsistence
Leigh Honig, Division of Wildlife Conservation
Sherry Wright, Boards Support Section
Kristy Tibbles, Boards Support Section
Jessalynn Rintala via teleconference, Boards Support Section
Darren Bruning, Division of Wildlife Conservation

Other Agencies

Cheryl Brooking, Alaska Department of Law George Pappas, USF&WS, Office of Subsistence Management Bud Rice, National Park Service

Public

Ted Spraker, Alaska Board of Game Neil DeWitt, Anchorage AC

Karen Gordon

Israel Payton, Matanuska Valley AC

Robert Cassell

Douglas Malone, Self & Homer AC

Frank Neumann, Anchorage AC

David Lorring

Mike McCrary

Scott Luber

James Pence, Ahtna

Gary Gearhart, Safari Club International

Eddie Grasser, Safari Club International

Gary Stevens, Alaska Outdoor Council

Rod Arno, Alaska Outdoor Council

Deb Moore, Alaska Professional Hunters Association (APHA)

Aaron Bloomquist, AK Wild Sheep Foundation / Self / APHA

Wayne Kubat, APHA / Self

Wayne Heimer, AWCA / Self

Jack Frost, Alaska Bowhunters Association / Self

JR Gates

Thor Stacey, APHA